Five Quick Things

8 January 2008

First, moving house is going to be very expensive. It will basically suck our savings dry — paying for removalists and freight and insurance and bonds and a month’s rent up front. I’ll be glad when it’s over.

Second, I’ve resolved to put some exercise back into my routine this year. When I was a kid I used to play a couple of different sports, so there’d be training three days a week and then matches on the weekend. Now, I walk to and from work a few days a week, but it’s not enough.

Third, my more fun resolution is to write letters. Moving away from friends makes this a no-brainer.

Fourth, I’m thinking about abandoning social networking sites. They’re an easy way to keep people up to date, but the flipside is that they kill conversation:

“I did X on the weekend.”

“Yeah, I saw that on Facebook.”

“Did you hear that Y and Z got together?”

“Yeah, it was on Facebook.”

Blegh.

Fifth, notwithstanding the aforementioned cost, I’m really, really looking forward to moving.

Leave a Reply

