Five Quick Things

28 November 2007

First, this site is too infrequently updated. This is because my motivation is currently exceeded by the effort involved in coming up with a topic and then putting finger to key. I will try to reduce the required effort by coming up with a few “template” ideas for posts — it’s worked quite well so far with zine reviews. Here is the first in what I hope will become a weekly series of Five Quick Things.

Second, I managed to get my hands slightly sunburnt over the weekend. Actually, it would be more accurate to say I managed to get part of my hands badly sunburnt. I burn in an instant, so I apply and reapply suncream almost as a reflex. Unfortunately, I missed the base of my thumbs. Thankfully, the sting has gone out of it now.

Third, I like the fact that the term guerilla clockmaker is a real term. That there is such a thing as a guerilla clockmaker. A group of French activists snuck into the dome of the Pantheon, set up a workshop and camp, and spent a year “piec[ing] apart and repair[ing] the antique clock that had been left to rust in the building since the 1960s”. Sadly, the French government refuses to wind the clock.

Fourth, last night I took my lady friend out for dinner at a cheap Chinese BBQ restaurant. I love restaurants that have ducks and pigs hanging in the window, cooks wielding massive cleavers behind the counter, and are frequented almost exclusively by foreigners. And the food was amazing.

Fifth, Contrast Podcast. Go. Listen.

Leave a Reply

